#BassMondays – The Untitled One (Interview + Dubplate 005)


1. For those that might not have heard of you, can you give a short introduction?
A: I am a design graduate, now making and spreading Bass Heavy vibes around. A Dj with special love for Drum and Bass, one of the Co-founders of the community ‘Drum & Bass India’.

2. What is the idea behind your name?
A: (Laughs). There is a funny story behind it. I used to call myself DJ D, like a short form of my name. It was something that I thought of during my school days and there was no such thought process behind the same. But when I started playing Drum and Bass, DJ D didn’t go along at all! My manager, Ritu, and I couldn’t think of anything for few months, and then we came with The Untitled One, the man with no name! Sounded good and unique to all of us and thus I went ahead with it.
 
3. How and when did you discover Drum and Bass?
A: Back in 2009-10, me and a very dear friend, Prateek Saxena, used to perform together (as Converters) and would often listen/exchange a lot of music. And I heard a few tracks from artists like Cyrus, Breakage, Bungle, Enei, Apex, Nymfo, S.P.Y, Flash, Twitch, Kila Mega Giga Tera and Caspa, just to name a few. And I grew fond of Drum and Bass and since then the love for this music has only grown stronger.
 
 
4. What do you feel about the Drum and Bass scene in India and what are your thoughts on its evolution?
A: There’s a lot more than can happen with the current Drum and Bass scene, in terms of gigs, and more artists coming down to India and Indian artists entering the International Drum and Bass scene.
About the evolution, honestly I am someone who hasn’t been in the scene for so long to talk about it, but what I have heard of how it started in 90s and what its now, its going pretty great. Given that main stream festivals like VH1 Supersonic have dedicated stage for this music, I can happily say that its definitely growing and will hopefully make a massive impact that it deserves. It for sure is going to be huge very soon.
 
 
5. What is your studio / DJ set-up?
A: I haven’t started producing professionally yet, but when ever I make some grooves, I use my laptop with Logic Pro 9 and my Numark HF125 headphones.
To DJ, I use 3 x Pioneer CDJ 2000s with a DJ 900 mixer (HID Connection), connected using a High Speed USB Hub with my Macbook Pro with Traktor Pro 2.6 running on it. I also use a LAN Hub to connect the 3 CDJs and the DJM on a single network just as a backup, if by any chance my HID connection stops (RekordBox link). I use 2 booth monitors at ear level and my Numark HF125 headphones to monitor my mixes. Some Mojito while mixing is always a good idea!
6. What can we expect in terms of future releases and what kind of sounds are you looking to produce?
A: As I mentioned before that I haven’t started producing professionally yet, and as of now I have only made some samples that needs to be worked upon to be converted into tracks. I intend to make sounds around the likes of Neuro Funk, Liquid and Jump Up styles of Drum and Bass.
 
 
7. Can you list 3 tunes you are feeling right now (any genre) and give a short reason why?
A: 1. Ivy Lab – Sunday Crunk (Mefjus Remix) : I love Mefjus, his unpredictable pattern and the tight sounds, I absolutely love it. I quite like how he completely changed this Ivy Lab track into something else. It’s a festival banger now!
2. Drumsound & Bassline Smith – Memories : I love D&BS. This particular track has this uplifting vibe that you cannot overlook.
3. Wilkinson – Half Light ft. Tom Cane : Totally love it. The video, the Lyrics, the Voice, everything about this track makes me happy. It works as a perfect mood brightener for me.
 
8. What is the best gig you have played so far. In terms of Sound Systems, Venue and Crowd Response?
A: Best Gig, Um, playing before Mosillator back in August 2014 at Bonobo for this tour managed by DnBIndia. The sound system – good. The vibe – great. The crowd – Knowledgeable and amazing. A perfect gig it was.
 
 
9. What’s the funniest / craziest thing that has ever happened to you during a gig?
A: A lot of “funny and crazy” things happen to me as I play DnB. Haha. So there was this gig long back at Blimey, I started my set with some Liquid DnB, and I remember a guy coming up to me and asking me if I could play some ‘fast’ music, the place being a club and not a lounge, according to him. I nodded my head with a smile and went ahead with my set. But it didn’t stop there, somewhere close to the end of the gig, while I was playing some Neuro sounds, he came up to me again and asked me to play some “EDM”. I had nothing to say to him, and I and my friend next to me who heard him too burst into laughter.
Also seeing people doing “The Bhangra Step” on Drum and Bass, something that happens quite often, is quite interesting. 
 
 
Connect with The Untitled One :
 – Facebook 
– Twitter
 
 
Check out the Exclusive Mix Set I did for Drum and Bass India’s Dubplate. 

 
 

https://www.mixcloud.com/widget/iframe/?embed_type=widget_standard&embed_uuid=d27378eb-db28-4cbe-b744-4c717e407134&feed=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.mixcloud.com%2Fdnb-india%2Fdrum-and-bass-india-dubplate-005-the-untitled-one%2F&hide_cover=1&hide_tracklist=1&replace=0

 

Tracklist:
 
01. Ivy Lab ft Frank Carter III – Missing Persons
02. Hugh Hardie – Wide Eyes (Original Mix)
03. Command Strange – Overseas (Original Mix)
04. Rush Chimes – We Need Nothing To Collide (Logistics Remix)
05. Eastcolors – Toys
06. Survival & Silent Witness – Flecther (Depth Mode Remix)
07. Ivy Lab – Live On Your Smile
08. Allied – Heliox (ft Nphonix)
09. Friction & Dimension – Kinetic
10. Salaryman – Heart & Soul
11. Salaryman & Hubwar – Cold Fish
12. BMotion – Bear Hug
13. Instinct – Legacy
14. Friction & Ulterior Motive – Curfew
15. Cod3x – Must Die
16. Allied – Ataraxia
17. Allied – Universe
18. Cod3x – Space Gang
19. Instinkt – Cross Grain
20. Mefjus – Blame You ft Zoe Klinck (Ivy Lab Remix)
21. Ivy Lab & Emperor – Pepper
22. Salaryman – Unstoppable
23. Smooth – Saturn 3
24. T & Sugah – Canyon Dive
25. T & Sugah – Too Late
26. BMotion – Vice City
27. Drumsound & Bassline Smith – Primitive
28. Drum sound & Baseline Smith – Memories
Leave a Reply

