#BassMondays – Denoy (Interview + Dubplate 008)

 

 


1. For those that might not have heard of you, can you give a short introduction?
A: I started my career back in the year 2008 and have had a residency at more than 10 properties across Bangalore since then. At every property, I followed a different style of music, based on the need of the hour. This helped me discover new forms of music and widen my horizon as well.
Now, I don’t categorize music into Genres instead I find sounds which are appealing to my ears. I now understand the vibe of a place much better, thanks to the variety of properties I have worked at over the years. I feel the friends I have made through music are an example of how I understand and develop the flavor of music which doesn’t only appeal to me as an artist, but also to my friends who support me and listen to my music. It is difficult to convince people to invest their time and money in an artist, or the kind of music the artists performs at a property or festival. I am honored and thankful to my friends who understand both me and my music.

 
2. How and when did you discover Drum and Bass?
A: It was in 2009 that I first got hooked onto Drum n Bass. Vachan Chinapa, one of the biggest supporters of Drum n Bass as a genre here in Bangalore, was playing at Bacchus. I heard the music, and I got Goosebumps immediately. This was a blessing in disguise for me, as a year later I was offered a residency at Bacchus. I will always be thankful to Bacchus for this, as this residency helped me experiment with different styles of Drum n Bass

 

3. You are one of the co-founders of B.U.M., could you please tell us a little about it, the ideology and process, people involved etc.?
A: . It all started when we – my partner Dj Villz and I – realised that there weren’t many places where we could play our style of music. We also saw that there were many others just like us, who needed a stage to showcase their skills and play their best form of music. There are a lot of people who love listening to the kind of music that we play, but even they didn’t really have a place to go to.
We realized that B.U.M was the solution to all these problems. B.U.M started as a stage where artists from all over Bangalore could come and feel at home by playing the music that THEY wanted to play, to a crowd that follows B.U.M almost religiously. More than a property, we are a family.

Thanks to the love and support of the Artists and all our friends, at this stage we are host to not only artists from Bangalore and the rest of India, but also to international artists who are a part of our growing family. At this point I would also like to introduce our new exclusive Bass property which will be launched soon. We are also planning something really exciting for the Bass artist and follower to look forward to. The name of the property and the date of launch will be announced soon.

 
 
4. What do you feel about the Drum and Bass scene in India and what are your thoughts on its evolution so far?
A: I think it is not very well exposed so far, and has not reached enough people. For most people, it is a very “hard” form of music rather than a beautiful form of music. I feel it has evolved in a very interesting way. It has expanded itself into various sub-genres. I love the way it’s growing in India, and especially in Bangalore. I think it has great potential and a long way to go yet.

5. Give us an overview of the things that according to you have changed in local Bangalore music scene, since you got into the industry.
A: When I started playing, I thought what people want is paramount, and you need to cater to them regardless of what you want to play.But years later, I have seen that people are more educated in terms of music and are open to listening to new forms of music. This is great news for music itself, and especially for artists like us. Now, you find people who follow several different genres of music, all the while appreciating every single one of those genres.



6. What is your studio / DJ set-up?
A: .  Usually I use a Roland Midi Keyboard, BX4 M-Audio and an iMac at home.
I prefer 3CDJ Nexus2000, 900DJM Nexus Mixer by Pioneer, LR Stereo monitor (min 400w each) Single 18 Sub-Woofer for my live gigs.

 
 

7.  (If you are producing) What can we expect in terms of future releases and what kind of sounds are you looking to produce?
A: As I said before, I love to experiment with a variety of sounds and don’t want to be confined to one box in terms of production. I have been actively working on my production skills and I have also been listening to different sounds, which have made me start thinking out of the box. Production to me is to translate what is in your head to your ear, and also the tangible experience of feeling something wonderful that you haven’t felt before.

I am working on a few tracks which I expect to release in early 2016.

8. Can you list 3 tunes you are feeling right now (any genre) and give a short reason why?
A: Artist – clozee, track- raging strings
Artist –DJ madd, track-  I-N-I
Artist- DyAD, track- this is earth



9. What’s the funniest / craziest thing that has ever happened to you during a gig?
A: This is something that I couldn’t believe actually happened . I was playing @ Fireflies  good crowd great vibe. One guy came up to the console accompanied by a girl, and this is the offer he made. “I will trade my sister for 6 of your music CDs”.



Connect with Denoy :
 – Facebook 
– Twitter
– Mixcloud




Check out the Exclusive Mix Set I did for Drum and Bass India’s Dubplate.

https://www.mixcloud.com/widget/iframe/?embed_type=widget_standard&embed_uuid=696b8fdb-8a50-4f76-b9fc-dcd7e6ba22ff&feed=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.mixcloud.com%2Fdnb-india%2Fdrum-and-bass-india-dubplate-008-denoy%2F&hide_cover=1&hide_tracklist=1&replace=0

Tracklist:
01. Total Science – New Beginnings (Original mix) [Ingredients Records]
02. Drop Frame feat. Alice Phoebe Lou – Maze (Ekko & Sidetrack Remix) [RYM]
03. RoyGreen & Protone – Homeground (Original mix) [DEMAND Records]
04. Projekt Nebula  – Maailmanaba (Original mix) [Unreleased]
05. Taelimb & Conscience – Public Eye (Original mix) [Flexout Audio]
06. Phase  – Darkest Of Minds (feat MC Mota) [DEMAND Records]
07. Tracktion Force feat. Kaiza – Sinister Talk (Original Mix) [T3K]
08. Kai – Clamped (Original mix) [Flexout Audio]
09. GOLD Dubs – Disco Dubs (Original mix) [Hazardous Musik]
10. Maurs – Walking The Dog (Original Mix) [Avantgarde]
11. Capo & Pacso – Belly Of The Beast (Original mix) [Higher Stakes]
12. Prime Suspect & Thëskal – The Underground (Original Mix) [Stickybass Records]
13. Emperor – Tandem (Original Mix) [Critical Music]
14. Kursiva – Aztec Spree (feat. Isaac Maya) [LowFreqMX]
Leave a Reply

