#BassMondays – Kampai (Interview + Dubplate 011)

11th Dubplate for #‎BassMondays features one of the newest kid on the block, Kampai.
1. It’s been a while that you have started to DJ and go by the name ‘Kampai’. Tell us the story behind the name and your choice of music?
A: It was during one of the social gatherings with my friends at a bar in Bangalore that I saw a poster with details about how “cheers” is spoken in different languages, all around the world. There were a lot of countries, but “KAMPAI” caught my attention, which is how they say it in Japanese. I have always had a keen interest in the Japanese art, culture, and their music. Somehow the word also seemed to go well with my sounds. So that’s how it all happened. At the moment, I am totally digging this Japanese compilation called Trekkie Tax.
 
 
02. How and when did you discover Drum and Bass?
A: To be honest around 3-4 years ago, I was into conventional EDM. It was also then that I was in the process of learning DJing on my own. Not truly satisfied with the sounds I was exposed to, I was trying to explore more by listening to outer forms of Electronic music, and while following some boiler room sets, I came across this guy called ‘Yarin Lidor’. I was blown away by his set. I totally connected on how he too was using Serato DVS, like I was. Since then, I particularly started paying more attention to Bass music and dedicated more time towards it.
3. Being a programmer at one of the Bangalore venues, tell us how you think you’re doing your bit in the growth of the Bangalore music scene? And how it is to manage all the gigs at the venue and also take care of your career as a Dj at the same time?
A: I personally want Bass music to be pushed in the country, and I see potential in it too. I have recently joined the venue and have seen how quality artists are programmed at the venue, with mine and the entire team’s efforts. I intend to continue working hard to do my part. With so may venues across the city that stick with commercial music, I believe we all together need to make a difference by creating the right balance between fine music and business. If you crack that, you know it’s all well. With managing both a venue and my own DJing career, it does get pretty difficult at times. Being one of the programmers at this venue consumes a lot of my time, and I often find it difficult to find time to explore new music like I used to. But things are slowly falling into place as I am getting familiar to the processes and everything else that’s required for the job, and I guess soon I should be able to manage my time properly, where I can have enough time to explore my music, learn and push myself as an artist too.

4. What do you feel about the Bass scene in India and what are your thoughts on its evolution so far?
A: The bass scene has been picking up slowly and steady, but I guess there is a long way to go. There are old and new communities around who are trying their best to promote the scene and support the artists and the music. I think that it’s going to be the next big thing, given that all of us keep pushing the sound without giving up.

5. What is your studio / DJ set-up?
A: I use a Traktor X1 and Z1 at home to practice. While playing live, instead of the z1, I use the DJM 900. I also have a Numark Orbit that I use for live sampling and effects. Speakers that I use are the 2.1 creatives and an Audio Technica ATH-M20x headphones.
06. (If you are producing) What can we expect in terms of future releases and what kind of sounds are you looking to produce?
A: I have been learning to produce on ableton right now, maybe soon I should be able to put something out. I am looking to produce Trap/Future Bass sound, something in between 140 to 160 bpm.
07. If you were to set up a Music Festival with only 5-7 national artists, what would your ideal Line-up be?
A: It guess it would be KAOS, Oceantied, Nanok, Sickflip, Gurbax, Mozzdeep and Sound Avatar. Also, I would love to be a part of the lineup too. *grins*
08. Can you list 3 tunes you are feeling right now?
A: 1. Graves and tynvn – the holy mountain
2. Ganz –  Dino war
3. Blur – Song 2, San Holo remix

09. You’re a Business Management Graduate. But instead you ended up in the Music Industry, please tell us why and how?

A: I was working at a tech startup a while ago, while also DJing on the side. I have always been inclined to the Music/Entertainment and Media Industry, so much so, that I really wanted to work around these. Since the desk job wasn’t really my cup of tea, I tried to get my hands on something significant for quite a while. Finally I did quit my job, sat home for about 3 months, trying to figure things out, before things fell into place. Now I am getting to understand the industry to the core, with learning so much everyday.

10. What is the best gig you have played so far. In terms of Sound Systems, Venue and Crowd Response?
A : The best gig so far would be this one at The Humming Tree in November 2015. Their sound system is one of the best in country I think. Also, the best part about the venue is the open crowd that walks in every night, that sometimes inspite of not being familiar with the on going music/sounds, still tries to appreciate it.
11. What’s the funniest / craziest thing that has ever happened to you during a gig?
A: “Please play some EDM” is something that I hear a lot during my gigs. It’s quite amusing and frustrating that people yet don’t understand the true meaning of “EDM”. Also, that what I play is EDM too, only that it’s not the conventional 4/4 or Big Room sounds.

12. You just found out that your last gig ever is tomorrow, what would be your closing track?
A: Kanye West – Clique, Keys and Krates remix.

Connect with Kampai :
 – Facebook 
– Twitter

Mixcloud

Check out the Exclusive Mix Set I did for Drum and Bass India’s Dubplate.

https://www.mixcloud.com/widget/iframe/?feed=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.mixcloud.com%2Fdnb-india%2Fdrum-and-bass-india-dubplate-010-kampai%2F&hide_cover=1  

Tracklist

1. Dorian Concept – Trilingual Dance Sexperience (Awe Bootleg) 
2. Mad Zach – Renegade [Saturate Records]
3. AIRWAV – Only a thought
4. Moody Goody – Fall in Love
5. Sh?m – Resurgence [Flow-Fi]
6. Masayoshi Limori – Whirwind [Trekkie Trax]
7. Mr Carmack – Hit That 
8. Conrank – Tounges [Saturate Records]
9. Ganz – Dino War
10. Mr Carmack – Solutions
11. CYGN – Pop a cherry [Daruma records]
12. UZ – Trap shit (Twine Remix)
13. Enschway & Kuren – Taking Hold [Daruma records]
14. KRNE x Alexander Lewis – Grim
15. LightOne feat. DDark – It’s going Down [Otodayo records]
16. Lookas & Crankdat – Game Over
17. Crookers and Digi – STIAAH!
18. Zeke Beats – Push It
19. Zeke beats – Danger ( Conrank remix)
20. Troy Samuela – Trouble
21. OSHI – Pink
22. Kendrick Lamar – Alright (Sonic D Remix) [Black Marble Collective]
23. Iyer – Get High [Phyla Records]
24. BeauDamian – No Know [BitBird Records]
25. AWE – Clickk em 
26. Nomak – Chrystaline [Record Record]
27. Taso – DRAPED UP RMX [Teklife]
28. Kanye West feat Big Sean and Jay-Z – Clique (Keys and Krates Remix) 
29. Dabow – Escape
30. T1R & Swindail – Merce 
31. DJ Pound – Hovercraft Bed [Saturate Records]
32. Graves and Tynvn – The Holy Mountain 
33. Mad Zach – Roughin It feat. G.Jones [Saturate]
34. Delhi to Dublin – Low’n Slow 
35. Koan Sound – Strike 
36. Wilkinson – Afterglow

Photo : Abhishek Shukla Photography

Leave a Reply

